Laura SheaSchool Counselor
My educational background:

I received my B.A. in Human Services from Pfeiffer University in 2013. I then continued my education and received my M.A. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from Medaille College in 2018.

My certifications:

I am currently a Licensed Clinical Mental Health Counselor and a Licensed Clinical Addictions Specialist Associate in North Carolina.

My social/emotional trainings:

M.A in Clinical Mental Health Counseling. I have also been in the mental health field for 10 years and have received trainings on trauma informed care and social emotional learning. I have provided individual, group, and family therapy as well.

My favorite teacher from my past:

Shout out to Mrs. Powers, my high school Spanish teacher! She is the most caring and passionate teacher I had growing up and really encouraged me not only to work hard, but to also be my full authentic self.

What do I love about Epiphany?

Although I am the newest member to Epiphany, what really drew me to joining the team was the feeling of warmth and acceptance.

How does teaching and working with children inspire me?

Being able to work with children everyday inspires me to not take life so seriously and to find the joy in the seemingly small things. Children see the world through a unique perspective that often gets lost as we get older due to responsibilities, life stressors, etc so working with children often reminds me to be appreciative of the little moments. I love being able to build relationships with children and their families to build upon their strengths and foster growth for years to come!

My spirit animal:

A unicorn

My favorite movie:

The Emperor’s New Groove, A Goofy Movie, and National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

My favorite board game:

Ticket to Ride and Monopoly

My favorite book:

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn or Verity by Colleen Hoover. I’m a sucker for a psychological thriller.

My favorite character, cartoon, or superhero:

Scooby Doo

My Interests and hobbies:

I love going to any live sporting event, particularly hockey, football, lacrosse. I played lacrosse growing up and through college. I also enjoy reading, doing puzzles, spending time with my family and my 2 dogs, and rollerblading.

My origins, travels and/or adventures:

I grew up in a small town in Maryland, but officially made my move down to North Carolina about 5 years ago. I think the most beautiful place I’ve traveled to was Alaska last summer!

My favorite thing to do, place to go, or eatery in Charlotte:

I love going to concerts and live music in the area. I also enjoy taking a walk in the mornings on the Rail Trail and grabbing a cup of coffee from Bitty and Beau’s. If you’re looking for the best pizza in town, Due Amici’s hits the spot in North Charlotte.

Start typing and press Enter to search